Beijing Imposed Sanctions On United States Officials

Beijing has placed sanctions on numerous United States officials, consisting of hawkish Republican Party Senators Marco Rubio and Ted Cruz.

China stated the actions were taken in reaction to the United States sanctions over the treatment of Uyghurs by Beijing.

In addition to Rubio and Cruz, the blacklist consists of Representative Chris Smith, United States envoy Sam Brownback, and the Congressional-Executive Commission on China.

All approved political leaders are strong critics of Beijing and have promoted difficult anti-China laws.

China’s Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Hua Chunying said that the sanctions are retaliation to previous hostile actions by the United States.

On July 9th, the United States Treasury blacklisted a number of high-ranking Chinese authorities, claiming “major abuses” of Uyghurs, a Muslim ethnic minority living in China’s northwestern Xinjiang area.

Hua stated that the scenario in Xinjiang is “simply China’s business,” which the United States has “no right” to step in.

She advised Washington to withdraw its “incorrect choice” to sanction Chinese authorities, assuring that Beijing will strike back even more if hostilities by the United States continue.


Leave a comment

(*) Required, Your email will not be published